Week 2: Diffusing a Bomb !!!! In Japan

Japan is definitely on my list of places I want to visit before I meet an untimely death.  I guess maybe it’s the culture I want to experience.  They just seem like they have much more nationalism than we do here in Murica and hold traditions in high esteem.  I have a lot of respect for that. Oh I forgot, read this blog with a Japanese accent for better authenticity.

The night started off as normal….get important things done first. Like getting the kids to bed.

We did manage to get the kids to bed early but the youngest kept getting out of bed for just about any reason he could think of.  “I need juice, I need my night night put on right, can you read me one more book, what are you guys doing, bacon? I need to go pee, I need to go poo”.

Yeah, so that was constant throughout the beginning but eventually the little guy fell asleep and it was time for the magic to begin.  Why do little kids always have to go poo right before bed?  It’s programmed within them or something.  Anyways, off to Japan we go.

My wife put on the traditional Japanese station on her Amazon Echo (which actually worked this time) so our moods would be set.  I have to say, the music was cool but man was it super slow. I wanted some crazy Japanese pop music or something…but no…it wasn’t happening.

This at home date night meal took a little more prep work since the meal I was making was YakiUdon and my wife’s appetizer was Cheese Korokke.  I had two items on our grocery list that could not be found.  I actually had to go to an Asian market to find them.  The cool thing is…I found a new little grocery shop that I will be using in the future.  The lady running the place was so nice and kind.  They serve food there too so next time maybe I can get something authentic.  So make sure if you are going to copy the recipe you have an Asian market nearby because you won’t find two of the ingredients in murica’s publix and one of them is essential to the dish. The other one you can probably go without if you want too.

My dish wasn’t going to take that long to prepare so I started to help my wife with hers and she jumps back and makes karate fighting sounds at me.

“Waaaa, Chaaaa, Waaaa”

She waves her hands around like she is going to fight me.  Now imagine a little Rican woman with a slight Rican accent making karate fighting sounds…..yeah…that’s my life.

She said in Japanese accent, “You no touch my dish white devil.”

I’m not sure where she gets this stuff but I couldn’t help but laugh.  It was a sight to behold.  She didn’t want me to be able to take credit for anything she made. Sound familiar fella’s?  Although when it came time to chop up the yellow onion she let me know she wanted me to do it.  Now I wasn’t offering help, just being told what to do and responding correctly.  There is a difference….in a woman’s mind that is.

After about 30 minutes her dish was ready to sit in the fridge for a little bit.  We cleaned up the dishes together (awwwww) and then sat down to talk a little.  She looked up some things they do in Japan and a couple of them were pretty funny and some were downright deadly.  By deadly I mean…slurping.

Nothing says, “I want to get stabbed directly in the eyeball with a spoon” like slurping your food near a Rican woman.

Probably most woman I would say hate to hear the sound of people eating, but in Japan slurping your food loudly is a sign that the food is good and it’s a compliment to the chef.  I did not attempt this later when we ate my dish, I ate it normal, White Devil normal.

The other one was that KFC is the busiest place to eat on Christmas Day.  They say it’s because foreigners to the country couldn’t find a place to get a turkey so they settled for KFC, and the Japanese people started following suit because they thought it was how you celebrated Christmas.

If I ever eat at a KFC on Christmas I will have failed somewhere horribly at one point in my life.

The best one I thought was that it is normal to stick your finger into another person’s butt.  Yep, you read that right.  It’s called “Kan-CHO!”

So apparently kids on the playground will clasp their hands together and point their fingers as if to make a gun and when people walk by they jab their “gun” into the passerby’s butt and yell “Kan-CHO!”.

Let me make something perfectly clear, that is not acceptable in murica.

While my wife and I were contemplating whether or not we were going to visit Japan now, the Amazon Echo timer went off which meant it was time to fry my wife’s appetizer.  The Cheese Korokke is a mashed potato patty stuffed with Gouda Cheese and breaded with Panko and deep fried.

Yeah, can you say…. “Kan-CHO!”

It was simply amazing.  The only thing different we would do would be to add more Gouda Cheese to it, but the flavoring of the potato was awesome and the dip is the other item you have to pick up in the Asian Market. It’s a type of Japanese BBQ sauce.  It tastes a little like Caribbean Jerk sauce.  It was really good.  I think she ate one and I ate two.  You can see from the pics they are pretty big.  So now it was time to cook my dish.

What I made was called YakiUdon.  It’s basically a Japanese style stir-fry.  The Yaki part comes from the sauce you use called Yakisoba.  You have to get this at the Asian Market.  The Udon comes from the type of noodles you use (No slurping though).  Then it’s just chicken, broccoli, peppers and some other things all put together.

It really was a delicious dish but I overcooked the noodles which made it not so great.  The flavor was spot on though.  We both enjoyed it.  I actually made it later in the week and gave it to the kids and they really hated it, but their diet consists of Gogurts and Cheezit’s (Parental Winning !!!) ….so they are not the most reliable judges.  Now I made the noodles correctly and it was really really good.

Well, we were pretty full so that meant one thing, it’s time to do something super stressful that could possibly cause and all out fight but is supposed to be fun.

For our activity we decided to play a game called “Keep talking and nobody explodes”.  It’s a game on the PC where one person has a bomb with little puzzles on it and a timer and another person who cannot see what the bomb looks like has the bomb manual in front of them and they have to talk to each other to diffuse the bomb before the timer goes off or they do something wrong 3 times.

Nothing says, “Future Marriage Counselling Needed” like trying to work with your spouse to diffuse a bomb.

So we decided that I should be the one using the bomb manual because my profession is very detail oriented and interpreting instructions is part of what I do for a living and she should be the bomb diffuser because she is good at following directions…..wait…that’s not right….this is going to be rough.

I had played this game briefly before but my wife hadn’t so I walked her through the tutorial and she felt comfortable with what she had to do.

I do have to compliment my wife really quick in one area.  She is a superfast learner.  I am not.  You just have to explain something to her once or have her perform something one time and she will be an expert.

So, time to diffuse our first bomb and save the Japanese people.

She hits go and the dialogue goes like this:

Me: “Ok – what do you see?”

Wife: “I got a Bomb”

SMH, we aren’t going to make it I thought.

Me: “No what do you see, any wires?“

Wife: “Yes there are wires.”

So I go to the section on wires and start rattling off instruction on how many wires, how many colors..bla bla bla.  I tell her to cut the yellow wire, she does and that section turns green which means onto the next module.

Wife: “I have a big red button that says HOLD”

Me:  “what color is it?”

Now it’s a good thing we can’t see each other’s faces because if there is one thing my wife hates is having to answer stupid questions, which I am the king of.

Wife: “RED I SAID….come on we have 1 min left !!!!”

I frantically look for the section on buttons and start asking her questions.

Me: “Does the button say anything?”

Wife: “HOLD” , she must be boiling by this point.

Me: “Ok, hold…hold…hold..I don’t see anything about it saying hold….ok wait, it says to hold the button- and what color does the meter to the right of the button turn?”

Wife: “BLUE! “

Me: “Ok let the button go when the timer has a …..”

*eerrrrrnnnt*

Me: “Ummm what just happened?”

Wife: “I let it go like you said.”

Back and forth we go on who made the mistake or whatever all the while the timer is still going.

Me: “Ok if the button is blue now push the button in and hold …..”

Wife: “I’m already holding it in !” 

(We are sooooo dead) I’m thinking in my head.

Me:“Ok – this time – let it go when the number 2 is in any position on the timer”

* BLING *

We diffused our first bomb with 27 seconds to spare.  We are pretty much geniuses.

Now you think we would both be happy we solved our first bomb but like most married couples we kind of blamed each other for not listening.  We did close to 8 other bombs without killing each other.

I could tell my wife really was enjoying herself because we stayed up till almost 1 am playing together.  It was a lot of fun and some of the puzzles are really hard so we watched some you tube video’s on how to even understand what we were supposed to do.  Even with the video’s it got really hard, but we worked together, blew up a lot together, blamed each other a lot together, but now we feel like if we were in that situation in real life we probably have a 15% chance of actually surviving.  I guess that’s better than 0%.

So we shut down the PC’s and I headed upstairs. She was behind me walking upstairs and says, “Hey, want to play another game?“

I’m thinking…..JACKPOT!! , “Of course I do babe “, I say……and then I feel it…..”Kan-CHO!!!“

So I hope you enjoyed sharing this experience with us and I hope you will start to put and importance on your marriage and spending time once a week falling in love again because as we say here at the At Home Date Night Duo blog…..let’s make marriages great again….wait no that’s not it….Feel the Bern of Marriage again…..wait that’s not right..what was it, oh yes, Marriage for America….nope that is just stupid and feels like something a complete and utter criminal would say.  I got it, Because your marriage is worth it !!!!  See you next Friday for another installment as we take a trip too Venezuela !!!!

 

Appetizer:

Cheese Korokke

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-073

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
potatoes 2lbs $2.00
butter 1tbsp $0.00
oil 2tbsp $0.00
onion yellow 1 lg $1.00
Gouda 7oz $3.98 I once ate a whole one of these on my way home from work.
salt and pepper to taste $0.00 I recommend 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper
eggs 3 $2.67
panko 2 cups $1.68
flour 1/2 cup $0.00 you have
tonkatsu Sauce dipping $5.65 you could possibly skip this
deep frying oil 2 cups $2.28 you might have this too, but I put the price in there anyways

Total Cost: ~ $20.00

Husband Rating : 9

Wife Rating: 9

Directions:

Chop up the potatoes in little cubes and place them in a big pot of boiling water.  Cook them until they are soft.  Drain out the water and Mash the potatoes while adding salt, pepper, and butter.

 

In and frying pan saute the finely chopped onions with the olive oil.  Once the onions have a good color mix them into the mash potatoe mix.

Hopefully the mashed potatoes are still hot. This helps with making the patties.  Fort the patties just like you would hamburgers.  Then in the middle cut up some Gouda and stick it in your mouth.  C’mon people !! You really think I could go through a whole recipe that involves cheese without stuffing some down my gullet before adding it to the food?  Think again !!

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-059

Ok, now that you are satisfied by the Gouda cheese, add some to the middle of the patties. I would recommend adding a lot.  Then put another patty on top of the cheese and make sure to close in all around the cheese with the potatoe.  Place the finished patties on some parchment paper and then stick it in the fridge and let it sit for about 15-30 minutes.  It really all depends on how hungry you are.

So you can fry them two ways.  The easy way is with a deep fat fryer (which is what I have) or you have to add about 2 cups of Canola or Veggie oil to a pan and fry them that way.  Either will work. The later just takes longer.

Get the oil hot while the patties are in the fridge. Then get your breading station going.  Pull out two plates and one bowl.  In the bowl whisk the eggs and add a little bit of milk.  If you don’t have milk then don’t worry, just use the eggs.  Then on the first plate put the ½ cup of flour and on the other plate put the 2 cups of Panko.

Now dip the patties in the flour, then the egg, then the panko, then into the burning hot oil.

Let it cook until it’s pretty brown.  I would even let it cook a little longer since Gouda takes a little longer to melt for some reason.

Let it sit for a couple of minutes and then dip it into the Tonkatsu Sauce and into your mouth.  Congrats…you just ate a Cheese Korokke.

Main Dish:  

YakiUdon

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-077

Sauce:

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
Soy Sauce 2 Tbs $2.28 You may have some..
Mirin 3 Tbs $3.99 you have to buy whole bottle..but you will use it for other things
Yakisoba Sauce 2 Tbs $4.99 these sauces are breaking the bank
Garlic 2 cloves $0.00 minced
Ginger 1/2 tsp $1.49 minced

Meal:

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
Chicken Breast 1lb $5.00
Frozen Udon Noodles 2 8oz $2.88 frozen, usually comes with 2 8oz or 7.1 oz packs
Olive Oil 2tbs $0.00
Yellow Onion 1/2 med $1.00
Red Bell Pepper 1 $1.68
Broccoli Florets 2 cups $1.84 partially cooked
Green Onions 2 $1.18 sliced

Total Cost:  ~$26.00

Husband Rating : 8

Wife Rating: 8

Directions:

This meal is super simple and you will probably start moving it into your normal rotation of bi-weekly meals.  I would recommend that you use or get a Wok to cook it in.  I don’t have one, which sucks, but hopefully my wife will read this, feel bad for me, and buy me one.   Of course that will probably involve me having to buy something for her as well, second thought….don’t buy me that Wok.

Cut the chicken up into little thin strips and put them in a mixing bowl.

 

To make the sauce just whisk the soy sauce, mirin, yakisoba, ginger, and garlic in a small bowl.

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-057

Add about 1 Tbs of the sauce to the chicken and mix it in with the chicken. You have to do this guys because your wife probably doesn’t like touching raw chicken.

Add some salt and pepper to the chicken

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-065

Heat up the Wok or large frying pan.  Medium High heat should be good.  Once it’s hot add the olive oil to the pan and coat the pan. Then add the chicken and the finely chopped onions. Let that cook until you can’t see any pink on the chicken anymore.

While that is cooking go ahead and chop up the broccoli if you bought it fresh. If you bought it frozen then cook it however the instructions tell you minus a minute.  You don’t want it completely cooked.

Once the chicken is brown throw in the broccoli florets and red bell peppers.  Let that cook until the peppers are a little soft.

While that is cooking, boil 10 cups of water and place the Frozen Udon noodles into the boiling water for about 1.5 minutes.

samsung-camera-clean-6_6_2016-060

Drain and let the noodles sit.  This is really easy to screw up. Don’t break apart the frozen noodles, you want them to be long and stringy. If you leave the noodles in to long your meal is going to suck.  I think they are already partially cooked when they are frozen.  I overcooked them the first time. Every other time I put them in for only 1.5 minutes.

Ok, once the chicken, broccoli, and peppers look like they are cooked go ahead and add the noodles. Mix it all together.  Then mix in the rest of the sauce.

Serve it in a bowl and garnish with green onions.  Enjoy !!

Activity:

“Keep Talking and nobody Explodes”

ktne

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
“Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes” 1 $14.99 Download off of Steam

Total Cost: $14.99  Sometimes Steam has sales on games. I think I picked this up for like 10 bucks.

Enjoyment Ratings:

Me: 10

Wife: 10

Probability of Marriage Counselling afterwards: 97%

Ok, this is your chance guys !!!  You get to play a video game with your wife !!!!!  I know it’s not League of Legends or Call of Duty, but hey, I’m trying to ease them in slowly.  Give it some time and soon they will be head shotting those snot noise kids that get 15 hours a day to practice their aim while you get a couple hours a week before you can say “Kan-CHO”.  Ok, back on topic.

You have to download Steam onto your computer. If you don’t know what Steam is then you fail.  Actually, it’s really easy. Just make a Steam account. Search for “ Keep talking and nobody Explodes”. Purchase it. Then play it.  Go through the tutorial with your wife.  You do need two computers to play because you aren’t supposed to be looking at each other’s screen while you play.  One person diffuses the bomb while the other one looks through the manual on what to do.  YouTube is your friend as some of the puzzles you may not understand exactly what you are supposed to do.

Shoot us a message if you can get passed some of the Morris Code parts.  Those were fun. By fun I mean it went something like this:

Me: Ok, I need you to repeat the sequence by saying bleep bleep for the short tones and blooooop bloooop for long tones.  They should just keep repeating the same sequence. You know you are at the beginning of the sequence when there is a long pause.  There is a short pause between letters.

Wife: Ok….Bleep Bleep Bleep BLOOOOOP….uh uh ….BLOOOOOP BLOOOOP

Me: did you hear the long pause first? (in my head I’m thinking…..what the hell is she doing)

Wife: What long pause?

Me: the long pause that starts the sequence?

Wife: I never heard a long pause…OH WAIT….Bleep BLOOOOOP ….BLEEP BLEEP BLEEP BLEEP……oK  long pause….BLOOP BLOOOOOOP

Me: *confused look*

Me: Stop, please stop for a second.

Wife: BLOOOOP BLOOOP BLOOOP…WE ARE GOING TO DIE !!!  HURRY UP WHAT IS THE CODE????

Me: we died as soon as you told me there was a Morris Code module.

Wife: BLEEP BLEEP BLOOOOOP BLEEE…oh no that was a BLOOOP…WE CAN STILL DO IT.

Me: God….just kill me now…kill me now please.

Wife: I Believe in you babe….BLEEP BLOOOOP BLOOOOP.

*Explosion*

Wife: You gotta listen babe…I’m doing the bloops and bleeps

Me: *head pounding on computer desk*

You guys are going to have a ton of fun playing this game.  It was challenging and fun to work through all the problems.  If any of you get the Morris code on the first try leave a comment.  We’d love to hear about your experiences with it.

Total At Home Date Night Cost:  ~ $60.00 .  

A little pricey but lots of repeat value. A lot of the sauces we can use for other things and the game you can play a bunch. Well worth the investment. If you have those things the date night is more around 30 bones I believe.

Thanks again for joining us.  We hope you enjoy the blog and continue to follow us.  Have a great day!!!

Christmas Savings 2017 Shadow Box deposits

If you don’t know what this is then check out the blog post here.  Even though we weren’t doing the home date night blog we have kept up this tradition and it always helps out during the Christmas Holidays.

Option 1: $51.00 Total saved: $103.00

Option 2: $25.00   Total saved: $51.00

Option 3: $10.00   Total saved: $20.00

UNTIL NEXT WEEK…….Because your marriage is worth it !!!

Leave a Reply

