Week 3: Dodging Axes, In Norway

I must apologize in advance for this blog.  This blog was actually written quite a bit ago when I thought I would start the blog back up.  I never posted it and saved it for when I thought something might happen and we couldn’t do date night one week.  I didn’t want to have to skip a week in this process, because as soon as I skip one, it’s much easier to skip another and then BAM !!! I give up.  So I have some of these gems in my pocket to pull out in certain circumstances.  My wife and kids were sick pretty much all week and it was difficult to do our planned Venezuelan date night. I was really looking forward to it and I know my wife was too.  So, I’ll leave you with our trip to Norway. I do have to say, this was a fun date night we had, the best part was I utterly slaughtered my wife at our activity.

The night started off pretty normal.  I got home from work and was handed over the keys of parental life.  You know what I mean guys, you get home, and you can just tell, It’s been a long day for your wife and she needs about an hour away from crazy town to get her wits back again.  It’s perfectly normal for this to happen and it happens to all of us. Women are a little unstable as it is, throw in kids and 5-6 hours of Hobby Kids mom on Youtube and it would drive about any person to the brink.  So give her that time. Let her decompress a little and you’ll see that the person you married many moons ago has returned, smiling, revitalized, and ready for a wonderful date with her knight in shining armor.  Sure the armor doesn’t fit as well anymore….but it’s still shiny.  Trust me, she appreciates it, even if it doesn’t show all the time I guarantee you she appreciates it.

So my wife headed upstairs and it was time for me to put on my big boy dad pants and tire these kids out.  My little one has been into pretending a lot. You know, acting like a dinosaur and of course, I’m the daddy dinosaur and we have to talk like dinosaurs and pretend to catch other dinosaurs and eat them…..yeah…..kill me.   You know, I’m not 21 anymore so crawling on my knees for an hour can do some damage…physically and mentally.  It’s ok though, he likes it and I know this phase will only last for about a year….yeah…kill me.   The older one rescues me though.  He likes to act like a crazed lunatic and jump on top of my back and act like another attacking dinosaur…this usually turns into an argument with the little one and then an all-out brawl takes place….this is my time to slip away and hide somewhere.  Usually crying happens shortly after, but at least I got a little break. I’m not quite sure how my dad did it. I had two older brothers and a younger sister and I can remember wrestling with my dad quite often.  Man, we would pound on him so hard.  Now I know why his body is so messed up and he walks like a bent piece of bread.  Thanks dad for letting us beat you up, it made us closer and I appreciate you way more now that my kids pound on me.

Well, I got them tired out and my back couldn’t take much more so I got them cleaned up and in bed.  My wife didn’t seem ready to come out of her cave so I headed downstairs to start date night.  I looked up her recipe and as I’m going through it I was like, “ Wow, I wonder if she read this, it looks like this is going to take 2-3 hours to make”.

Just then I hear this Viking music playing loudly and my wife comes down and she has made a viking helmet out of tin foil and is wearing it on her head and has covered one of her bras in tin foil and wearing it on the outside of her shirt.

Wife:  I’m ready for date night in Norway babe.

Me:  You are the absolute greatest wife that has ever lived !!!!

She never ceases to amaze me.  I wish she would let me post a picture of what she looked like. I just couldn’t stop laughing.  She is such a jokester and I love it.  This is why Date Night is so important. It reminds you that you are more than just a mom or just a dad, you are husband and wife, best friends who love being idiots together.

She kept the get up on for the rest of the night.

We started to make her dish.  She decided to make Norsk Kanelboller (Norwegian Cinnamon Twists). This is no walk in the park my friends.  I was like:

Me: did you read this?

Wife: yeah why?

Me: are you sure, because this is going to take like 2 hours?

Wife: WHAT ????

Me: well, good thing I don’t work tomorrow, we got this

Wife: Ok let’s do this !!!

I could tell the costume was making her feel like she could conquer the world.  Let’s just roll with it.  Well, we started to get into her dish and oh boy, we wished we hadn’t. This was a ton of work. Without a Kitchen Aid mixer this dish is extremely hard to make.   About halfway through the kneading process she was like

Wife: I think we should just throw this away and do something else.

Me: No way, we started it we are going to finish it.

Wife: no really, I don’t even think this recipe is accurate, the dough looks so weird and we’ve been doing this for 40 minutes now.

Me: We’ve come so far to give up now……ok let’s give up.

Wife: No ….we must endure.

e

So we endured and 2 hours later we had the most amazing hot cinnamon buns.

While the dough was rising I made the Norwegian Meatballs.  They were super easy to make and really good.  She and I both loved them.  It doesn’t take too long to make and you need something to do while the dough is rising.  I will probably make meatballs this way for the rest of my life.  They were so tasty.

Ok, after eating it was time for our activity.  Since we were visiting Norway all I could think about was Vikings.  So we decided to have an axe throwing competition……..yeah…..no…….

Having axes in the same house with a Rican woman is probably not a good idea.  So I did the next best thing. We got a dart board and we were going to play a modified version to the game called cricket.

I got the dart board off of Amazon for like 20 bucks.  I’m not big into darts and she said she had never played (I knew this….it’s why I bought the thing).   I’ve been losing at competitive games since doing the home date night so I needed some kind of advantage. If you want to read about me getting humiliated in a game I should have destroyed her at…read this

I explained the rules and set up the board.  The way we were going to play was just try to hit 20, 19,18,17,16,15 three times each and in descending order.  The first person to close out all numbers won the game.

On my first shot….WAMO….double 20’s.  Her first shot…..nada.

Wife: This isn’t fair, the board is too high and I’m short, plus you are making me throw from so far away.

Me: I don’t care that’s the rules

Wife: *look of, I’m going to stab you with one of these darts*

Me: *trying to hide how fearful of her I truly am*

We continued to play and after 6-7 rounds I was on number 17 and she was still on 20….yeah…I’m destroying her.

Wife: This is so unfair.  This is physics you know…pure physics is not allowing me to win because my trajectory is harder to accomplish than yours

Me: *blank stare*…….Ok, you can move a little closer.

Wife moves closer and hits all her 20’s and moves onto 19.  At this point I’m a little scared….but of course I’m talking smack and looking like I have total confidence in myself.

After my next turn I nail all my 17’s and 1 16.

Wife:  Get on your knees and try to throw so you can see what I’m talking about.

Me: *gets on knees, throws first two darts and misses 16*

Wife:  See what I mean…see how much more difficult it is

Me: *throws third dart and hits triple 16*…….so I guess I’m better than physics…right?

Wife: *punches husband in the arm*

Me: yep…I deserved that.

Well, everyone, you will be happy for me.  I took her down and closed out the game shortly after.  Finally, I get one in the win column for Home Date Nights.

20170119_215326

She was a good sport about it.  She said good job and gave me a nice long congratulatory hug….no kiss though.

Well, we she headed upstairs for bed and I went in to clean up the kitchen.  I hear her call down and she says:

Wife: Hey, didn’t the Vikings like to explore and go raiding for villages for treasure?

Me: I’m not sure, I think a lot of that is myth and made up for dramatic TV shows.

Wife: *tosses down tin foil bra*  Well, maybe there are some lands up here that need exploring and still some hidden treasures to be found.

Me: *Makes Viking war call sound and runs upstairs as fast as possible*

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed our home date night and you are doing your own Home date nights. Please share your experience or share any ideas or thoughts on how we could improve the blog. We love to read comments or answer any questions you may have about the recipe’s.  Have a great week and we will see you next Friday.  Remember….Your Marriage is worth it !!!!

Appetizer : Norsk Kanelboller (Norwegian Cinnamon Twists)

3

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
flour 8 cups $3.99
dry yeast 1 pkg $0.99
salt 1 tsp $0.00
ground cardemon 2 tsp $0.00
sugar 2/3 cup $0.00
egg 1 $0.00
whole milk 2 1/2 cups $0.00
Unsalted butter 2/3 cup $0.00
Cinnamon Paste QTY Cost Notes
Unsalted butter 1/2 cup $0.00
cinnamon 6 tsp $0.00
sugar 1/3 cup $0.00
egg 1 $0.00

Total Cost: $5.00  (honestly, you probably have most of these items)

Husband Rating: 9

Wife Rating: 9

The only reason these get a 9 is because they definitely need some kind of glaze….oh and it takes A FREAKEN LONG TIME TO MAKE !!!!   but it was worth it.

Directions:

Prepare yourself physically and mentally.  If you do not have a KitchenAid mixer you may curse…not once, but a lot….in a loving way though.  We do not have a KitchenAid mixer….so there may have been a few choice words said.

Ok, once you are prepared dump all the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl (flour, dry yeast, salt, ground cardamom, sugar)

Add 1 egg to the dry mix and incorporate. This is where you start to wish you had a nice electric mixer.

Heat up the milk for like 30 seconds in the microwave. You don’t want it burning hot, just warm.  Now start to add the milk into the dry mixture and attach the imaginary dough hook (your hands) to the imaginary mixer (you) and start to mix everything together aaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnddddddddd…..let cursing commence as you knead the bajesus out of it.  When you think you are done kneading…knead a little more.  It should take you about 30 min….yeah….30 minutes.  If you read this recipe before you started than you have probably decided not to make it.  If not, then you are wishing you didn’t start it and are debating whether or not you want to throw all this flour away.  It’s a tough decision. We almost threw it all away, but we pushed through.

Ok, once kneaded (slightly sticky)…or so you think once kneaded,  melt the butter and add it to the dough ball in 1/3’s at a time.  This gets really messy without a mixer. Butter everywhere and it takes a long time to incorporate.  Probably another 15-20 minutes.

Once done, place the slimy dough ball into a bowl and cover with some plastic stuff, let the dough sit for about 45 min or until it has doubled in size….you see now why we were up so late.

While the dough is rising, in a mixing bowl mix ½ cup butter, 6 tbs cinnamon, 1/3 cup sugar, and 1 whisked egg and mix everything together to make a paste.  Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 400F.

Ok, the dough has now risen, guess what? Time for more kneading.  On your counter top go ahead and lightly dust it with flour. The dough should be oily from all the butter you added.  Knead for about 5-7 more minutes

Once done with the kneading roll out the dough into a large flat circular form.

On half of it add the paste that you made and then fold over the other half onto the top of the paste.  Now cut long strips about an inch thick.

photo-1

Twist the buns as shown in the pictures below.

photo-2

Line a baking sheet with Parchment paper. Place the buns on the parchment paper and then put into the oven and bake for about 15 minutes.  Pull them out and admire your handy work.  Even without any glaze or topping these things are still good.  This makes a lot of buns. We were eating them for days.  They are great for breakfast.  I love buns

Main Dish : Norwegian Meatballs w/ Brown Gravy

photo-3

ITEM QTY Cost Notes
Ground beef 1 lb $3.99
unsalted butter 2 tbs $0.00
olive oil 1tbs $0.00
Onion 3/4 cup $0.99 grated
half and half 1/4 cup $2.49 you probably have this
egg 1 $0.00
kosher salt 1 1/2 tsp $0.00
ground nutmeg 1/4 tsp $0.00
ground allspice 1/4 tsp $0.00 just use whatever multi spice you have
black pepper 1/4 tsp $0.00
beef broth 4 cups $2.99
beef base 1 tbs $0.00 I had some beef boulon cubes..you probably have these too.  They are cheap either way
Kitchen Bouquet 1 tsp $2.99 I had to look this up to see what it was…its just some liquid flavoring
salt and pepper to taste $0.00

Total Cost: $13.45

Husband Rating: 10

Wife Rating: 10

Directions:

First you have to grate the onion.  I’ve never grated an onion before.  I figured you should just chop it up fine but I’m following the recipe so grating it is.  I think you can do it either way.  So grate ¾ of a cup and put it into a large mixing bowl.

Add ¼ cup of half and half, 2 tbs cornstarch, 1 egg, 1 ½ tsp kosher salt, ¼ tsp ground nutmeg, ¼ tsp ground allspice, and ¼ tsp ground black pepper.

Whisk all this together in the bowl.

Now comes the fun part, making the meatballs.  So dump in the pound of ground beef and mix everything together really well.

b

Now make the meatballs.  Make them whatever size you want.

In a large frying pan on medium high heat 2 tbs unsalted butter and 1 tbs of olive oil.  Then add in the meatballs.  Just brown them, do not cook them all the way through. Seal in that flavor.

Once you are done with the meatballs put them off to the side. Then deglaze the frying pan with 3 1/2 cups of broth. Don’t throw away the little brown bits from browning the meatballs.

Stir in the beef base and bring the broth up to a boil.

In another bowl whisk together the flour and kitchen bouquet and the remaining ½ cup of beef broth.  Then add this mixture to the main broth in the frying pan.

Reduce down to a simmer and let it cook for 5 minutes.

Heat the oven to 400F.  In a roasting pot or something you can put in the oven go ahead and put all the meatballs in and pour over the broth.  Cover the pot and shove it in the oven and let it braise for 35-40 minutes.  Yeah, that’s a long time.

In the meantime you can make some mashed potatoes or some noodles.  You don’t need a side at all. These meatballs are fantastic by themselves and are full of flavor. Enjoy !!

Activity: Darts “A game of Cricket”

20170119_215208

Total Cost: $ 20.00

Enjoyment:

Husband: 10….of course…I WON

Wife: 1   just kidding, she had fun, she just doesn’t like to lose

Ok, this is really simple.  If you don’t have a dart board you can buy one off of amazon for like 20 bucks here. That’s pretty awesome. Yes, it’s not the nicest of dart boards but it will work.  This was a quick game which was good because we took so long on the buns…not the fun kind.

So the way we played Cricket was really a variation. It’s how I remember playing it.  Basically you make two columns and are trying to hit numbers 20,19,18,17,16, and 15.  We played where you had to hit them in order.  You have to hit 20 3 times before you could move on to 19.  The first person to close out each number won the game.  Now I bet if I went back through all the home date nights I would find that my wife has crushed me at most games that we play. Well, tonight was not that night.   I stand victorious…as I sleep on my lonely couch…but it’s ok….because I’m a champion.

TOTAL HOME DATE NIGHT COST : ~ $38.00

Christmas Savings 2017 Shadow Box deposits

Option 1: $50.00 Total saved: $153.00

Option 2: $24.00   Total saved: $75.00

Option 3: $10.00   Total saved: $30.00

UNTIL NEXT WEEK…….Because your marriage is worth it !!!

 

Leave a Reply

